flyers or not

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• flyers or not

Drove around a new area I am hunting this year and saw 7 spreads around the reservoir the birds use as a roost, Every spread seems to have the same small number of flyers "3-6" except for one really impressive big full body spread with NONE. I am hunting away from the masses and the closest spread is 7 Miles away and on a different flight line. If I have wind I have ran them since I started playing the game but with a bigger quantity " 12-18 ". I am not a roatery guy for the most part, but do pull them out sometimes on flat days but usually not. Seems like many have given up on them, whats your thoughts on them?

Can't stand them. Look at some of the drone videos out there and you can't tell if the decoy is a flyer or a windsock/full body. Rotaries are a little different but still, IMO, not needed.

Comment

When I used socks and hunted in white I used a jack kite on a fishing pole to get birds to give me another swing and on calm days I used a ss bouncer with a blue on it.
      Timing was everything with both and they definitely help get you an extra flock or two.

As for flappers and rotteries i do not use them.
      I have and was never impressed with any of them personally.
      Like most have said over the years it’s the first thing you take down. No body ever takes themselves out of spread and leaves them up.

But its it’s funny when you do take yourself out of the decoys a flock always lands in your decoys. Ironically or are they truly seeing you?
      So the question Iv always asked are you really sure birds are not seeing you laying in white ? Or the decoys for that matter.

I dont use any of it at all and I don’t lay in the decoys either.
      Why atract attention to yourself

Comment